NOTEWORTHY: ‘Made in Brooklyn’ by John McEuen

cd-mceuenJohn McEuen, a former Clear Creek County resident and founding member of the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, has continually performed since 1964 including 8,500 concerts and 300 television shows throughout more than 3 million miles with the band and as a solo performer. Beyond performing, he has a rich history of creating, producing and preserving original and traditional folk and acoustic music, and taking it to new audiences.

The musician now brings together the diverse talents of his life-long “friends in music,” all of whom have been instrumental in molding Americana Music in their own right. McEuen invited these talented musicians and vocalists to join him to celebrate traditional recording style in hi-definition and make lifetime memories with new musical moments. The project was recorded in Brooklyn in the same manner as the landmark album “Will The Circle Be Unbroken.”

The album features appearances by David Bromberg, Steve Martin, David Amram, John Cowan, John Carter Cash, Martha Redbone, Jay Ungar, Andy Goessling, Matt Cartsonis, Skip Ward and Lars.

“[This album] highlights John’s wizardry in his own musical interpretations and showcases his talents in surroundings where he is most comfortable—alongside great musicians, recording great music with carte blanche freedom to create,” Steve Martin wrote in a review.

1) Brooklyn Crossing
2) My Dirty Life and Times
3) Travelin’ Mood
4) She Darked The Sun
5) Miner’s Night Out
6) Excitable Boy
7) My Favorite Dream Intro
8) My Favorite Dream
9) I Still Miss Someone
10) Jules’ Theme
11) Blue Ridge Cabin Home
12) Acoustic Traveller
13) Mr. Bojangles
14) I Rose Up
15)  Mountain Whippoorwill
16) Bojangles Conversation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s